The Roslyn Otzen Award for Exceptional Teaching

Established in honour of Alliance founder and former president Dr Roslyn Otzen, The Roslyn Otzen Award for Exceptional Teaching recognises outstanding women and men who have made a significant contribution to teaching in a girls’ school.

Award Winners


  • Only individuals, and not schools or other organisations, may be nominated for the award
  • The award is open to all registered practicing teachers and school leaders currently working in an Alliance member school
  • Nominations must be endorsed by the principal of the nominee’s school and only one nomination per school will be considered
  • Previously unsuccessful nominees may nominate again
  • Principals are not eligible to nominate.


All nominations will be assessed on the evidence provided in response to the selection criteria outlined below. Nominations should be supported by a wide range of strong evidence and may include qualitative and quantitative data, formal and informal evaluations, student data, peer recognition, references and where applicable examples of materials.


  • Introduced innovation, leadership or scholarship that has enhanced teaching practice and/or development of curricula, resources or programs to inspire student learning
  • Demonstrated sustained improvement in girls’ learning experiences and outcomes in the classroom, school, or the wider community
  • Engaged with colleagues, schools, universities, business and community organisations to establish successful partnerships and/or initiatives for the benefit of students
  • Informed understanding of contemporary research, or undertaking of original research to guide initiatives, programs, or practice.


Download the nomination form here

The nomination should be no more than six (6) pages in length excluding the Nomination Form. It should address the criteria from the list above clearly and succinctly. A short resume of up to three (3) pages may be appended to the nomination to illustrate the nominee’s career and achievements.

Self-nominations are accepted.

Information provided in the nomination form of the successful nominee may be published.

The nominee is requested to be available to make a short video statement if required. The Alliance will contact the nominee should this be required.

The successful nominee agrees to write an appropriate paper for publication by the Alliance.


A selection committee is appointed from the Alliance’s Executive Committee.


$2000 will be awarded to the recipient along with complimentary registration at an Alliance conference or event of the recipient’s choice, scheduled within 24 months of the award announcement.

Closing Date

Nominations for 2023 are now closed.


Recipients will be announced in March 2023. Details of previous winners can be found here:

More Information

For more information on the nomination process please contact [email protected] or +61 7 55210749

Submission of Nominations

Nominations must be emailed as a single PDF file to: [email protected] Please note, hard copies or multiple files will not be accepted.